After the initial renewal period, Florida real estate salespersons and brokers are required to take 14 hours of continuing education every two years. Three of the 14 hours must be in Florida rules and law updates, and 3 hours must be in Florida Ethics & Business Practices. The remaining 8 specialty hours can be in any Department of Business and Professional Regulations (DBPR) approved course, including receiving credit for attending Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC) or Florida Real Estate Appraisal Board (FREAB) meetings. Licensees can take continuing education courses in either live instruction or distance education formats.
A final exam is required at the end of each commission-prescribed continuing education course. Passing the final exam requires a score of 80% or higher. Students who do not pass the final exam will be required to start the course over from the beginning before being eligible to take the final exam again (Chapter 61J2-3.009(4)(a)).
Once the course final exam has been successfully passed, the continuing education provider has 30 days to submit the student’s course completion records to the DBPR by using the department’s electronic reporting system. Once the information has been submitted, real estate licensees can view their CE records by using the DBPR’s online portal system:
You can find more information about CE requirements on the DBPR website:
Novus Education offers the online real estate courses and exam prep you need to become a successful agent in Florida